Grumpypants

Rest weeks suck.

Week 5 of the Tour of the Battenkill training program, and this so-called “rest week” is not quite the respite I thought it would be.

I’m both itchy because I’m not riding like usual, but sore because of some new exercises I did at the gym yesterday. Riding the trainer last night was horrendous because I’m having serious saddle issues. My body is pissing me off.

I sit down at my desk with my little homemade burrito, which is about a quarter of the size of a Chipotle burrito. I’ve literally measured everything that’s inside of it. (I’m late to work all the time b/c it takes me so effing long to prepare my meals.)

Then my officemate walks in carrying a bag from Good Stuff Eatery with a burger and fries and what’s sure to be a full-sugar Coke. I can’t even smell my lunch, which is directly beneath my nose, because of those damn fries.

I don’t eat much red meat and only give myself cheeseburgers as a reward after racing or an especially hard workout. I resent her and her cheeseburger. I resent everyone who eats cheeseburgers. 

I know, I know. Accomplishment. Working toward goal. Tightening your butt instead of watching it spread. Still – Rest Week is making me want to hit things. I can smell food like a drug-sniffing dog.

Leave a comment